top of page
Treasurer - Gabe Redler
Email Gabe Redler

A life-long resident of New Jersey, I grew up with various family dogs and cats and

other domestic and exotic pets. My first dog as an adult was a white English Bull Terrier

named Tegan. We spent many years, together with my wife Diane, hiking and exploring the

New Jersey and Pennsylvania outdoors. For the next 30 years I had a number of Bull Terriers and a Flat Coated Retriever. In 2017 my son “snuck” home a small Pomeranian mix he rescued while away at college. The infectious joy, prick ears and curly, tail Mishu has won me over and I was hooked.

 

I spent the next few months researching dogs, primarily northern Spitz type breeds. Eventually, I discovered the Alaskan Klee Kai and was fortunate enough to live near a great breeder, Korine Falk and Barkor’s Alaskan Klee Kai. After a few email inquiries and phone calls I knew I would be getting a Klee Kai. My first Klee Kai, Korra, came home in September of 2019.  It was quite an adjustment going from larger breeds to a Klee Kai. Korra became my canine partner in everything. She taught me so much and we began doing activities beyond the basics of obedience and normal “pet” things. I knew she needed to be socialized and we need more than just hiking. We started with agility and now compete in Barn Hunt, Scent/Nose Work and most recently AKC Tracking. Korra is my first dog ever that I have competed in dog events. Korra continues to grow and evolve.

 

My second Klee Kai also came from Barkor. Ani came home in March of 2023. She is my black and white ball of laughter. Ani is full coated AKK in black and white mini and continues in Korra’s footsteps. Earning various titles including CGC and Fit Silver, Ani has begun classes in agility and scent work. Ani and I have also done some UKC conformation shows which has been a learning experience for both of us. I see great things with both Korra and Ani in the coming years.

 

When not working with dogs or running to dog classes I also enjoy hiking, kayaking and most outdoor activities. Some of my hobbies include taking care of a collection of houseplants, aquariums, cooking and I also have three motorcycles. Additionally, I have backyard chickens and I am a hobbyist beekeeper.
 

For the last 35 years I have been working in accounting and finance in the Insurance Industry.  I look forward to interacting and meeting with people in our Alaskan Klee Kai community and hope my experience and passion for the breed can help continue all the positive stride the club has made.

Fundraising_2023_12_Holiday1.jpg
bottom of page